And so it begins…

I’m writing this on my phone (very old school) and feel like I need very small fingers. Apologies in advance if there are typos.

As you can see, Rudy is dog tired. Yesterday, we packed up the car. Who am I kidding? The pups don’t have opposable thumbs. I packed the car. And away we went, off to discover who knows what.

We headed west on I90 and just as we took off, I received a message that there would be a showing of my house that afternoon. Sometimes, we have to remove ourselves from the situation in order for things to flow.

Our first major stop was Butte, along the back way from Whitehall. Someone said Butte was a great community and while I’m sure it is, it’s still not for me. We stopped at the mining museum and the stop reminded me of my dad. It’s just the type of stop he would have loved.

Right around the corner, I found a dog park, and the pups romped until the rain started. Back in the car and onto Missoula.

It’s all about the dog parks, the Mexican mochas, fishing, and the overall feeling of a place.

Missoula is nice but it’s a big city, with a population of 73,300. That’s twenty thousand more than Bozeman. It also has many of the same shops as Bozeman. That being said, I did see my old neighbor from Livingston. Small world. Even smaller, her schnauzer is named Sasha.

We stayed at a very nice hotel, The Wren, which is related to The Lark in Bozeman, and The Finch in Walla Walla. They gave the pups dog bowls complete with a scarf, pup calming treats (I don’t think I gave them enough), hand made treats, paw balm, and a ball.

I dined at a good bbq restaurant, but couldn’t decide if the smoke smell was on me was from the restaurant or the wild fires in Canada which were wafting into Livingston, Butte, and Missoula.

I wanted to get moving but had some things to take care of, like filling in a rock chip in the windshield from a rock that hit it the day before, the dog park, and the Mexican mocha. Both the park and the mocha were only fair and perhaps a slosh beneath fair. Lucy also discovered squirrels in Missoula. We don’t have them in Livingston, so they are very new, exciting, and worth the pull.

I figured I would be coming back through Coeur d’Alene (CDA), so went up to Sandpoint. We made some mandatory water stops along the way, but it was a trek.

Lake Pend Oreille is the second largest freshwater lake west of the Mississippi with Flathead Lake being the largest. Rudy didn’t want to get out. He and Lucy had a splash, I mean blast.

Sandpoint has a very northwoodsy vibe to it, mixed with a touch of Cape Cod. I’ll let you know more about CDA another day.

The offer is pretty good on the house but we want to check one thing first.

One thought on “And so it begins…

Leave a comment